Closing the book

This blog was a record of my service as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Niger, West Africa. I served from July 2010 – January 2011, when, due to an incident of terrorist activity, all 97 Volunteers were evacuated immediately and permanently.

Although I did not serve the full 27 months I am still officially a Returned Peace Corps Volunteer, because I was evacuated due to security concerns.

I chose to stay in America and not pursue another service in a different country although that option was made available to me.

Over two years later, I have never truly regretted either the decision join the Peace Corps, or the decision to leave and not go back.

I currently live in Orlando, Florida and proudly work for a wonderful nonprofit organization. I still highly recommend Peace Corps and remain active in the local RPCV chapter.

If you are interested in Peace Corps please feel free to read what I’ve written here, but keep in mind that everyone’s experience is different and unique.

Most of this blog has been made private, but if you’d like to see more or have any questions, please feel free to email me at schwendemanjessica [at] gmail.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

